Flagship Machine Supplier Rings

supplier rings · convergence · China dependence

One supplier ring for each of 11 flagship machines, from cells to final assembly. Tesla builds most of its own machines, but the magnets, cells and actuators under them still trace to China.

Network diagram of the 11 flagship machines and the suppliers they share. Shared suppliers, with the number of rings each appears in: Samsung 4, BYD 3, NVIDIA 3, STMicroelectronics 3, Sanhua Intelligent Controls 3, TSMC 3, Tuopu Group 3, onsemi 3, CATL 2, JL Mag Rare-Earth 2, LG 2, Syrah Resources 2. Lines join each machine to the shared suppliers in its ring. The V4 Supercharger cabinet and the Brookville depot microgrid share no supplier with the other machines apart from Tesla's own units. Tesla's units supply all six Tesla rings. MACHINES AND THE SUPPLIERS THEY SHARE Model Y Han L Cybercab Ojai Semi Optimus V3 Unitree G1 Megapack 3 V4 cabinet Joby S4 Depot microgrid Samsung4 BYD3 NVIDIA3 STMicro3 Sanhua3 TSMC3 Tuopu3 onsemi3 CATL2 JL Mag2 LG2 Syrah2 Core: suppliers in two or more rings, with the ring count. Red China; gold Japan, Korea, Taiwan; blue US, Europe, Australia. Tesla units supply all six Tesla rings (not drawn).
Machines
11
Ring rows
206
Shared suppliers
13
In-house rows
40%
Hub
Supply Chain

Finding

China dependence sits in magnets, cells and robot actuators, while compute and software come from the US, Korea and Taiwan

Almost every magnet row traces to China, against almost none of the compute rows. Across all rings 39% of rows are China-supplied and 40% are in-house; the shared suppliers are the chip fabs and Tesla's Chinese Tier 1s.

The rings split by maker. BYD's Han L is in-house almost to the material layer and Chinese almost throughout; Tesla's Cybercab and Semi are in-house and US-built down to cells, cathode and lithium hydroxide, with Giga Texas (see AustinIO's Tesla Giga Texas) and the Robstown refinery (Tesla lithium refinery) carrying most of it. Waymo's Ojai is the reverse: a Chinese vehicle from Zeekr with American sensors, compute and software. Megapack 3 is Tesla-made above the cell at the Brookshire Megafactory (AustinIO: Tesla Megapack Brookshire) and Chinese at the cell.

The suppliers that cross makers are chip fabs and Tesla's car supply base. Samsung Foundry fabs AI4 for the Model Y, Cybercab and Semi, AI5 for Optimus, and the NVIDIA Orin chips in the Han L and Unitree G1; TSMC fabs AI5, Waymo's custom chip and the NVIDIA Thor module in the Joby S4. STMicroelectronics and onsemi supply SiC to the Model Y, Semi and Ojai. Sanhua and Tuopu, thermal and chassis suppliers to the Model Y and Semi, are now the actuator suppliers Tesla audited for Optimus: the car supply base is becoming the robot supply base, and it sits in Zhejiang.

These rings are the machine-level counterpart of the SemiconductorX chip supplier rings (Tesla AI5 appears in both) and the DatacentersX rack supplier rings. Rows are labeled confirmed, reported or inferred; an inferred row is a deduction from the maker's other products or its supply base, never a disclosed contract.

Machines

The 11 flagship machines

One ring per machine: who supplies each layer from cells to final assembly, with country, plant, relationship and how well each link is sourced. Select a machine for its full ring.

Flagship machines and what their rings show
MachineMakerClassWhat the ring shows
Tesla Model Y (Juniper)TeslaBattery-electric crossoverTesla builds the pack, drive units, software and the car itself, but buys its cells, magnets and AI chip.
BYD Han L (Super e-Platform)BYDBattery-electric sedan on the megawatt-charging Super e-PlatformBYD units make nearly every layer of the Han L, and the one foreign part found is the NVIDIA ADAS chip.
Tesla CybercabTeslaTwo-seat robotaxi with no steering wheel or pedalsCells, cathode, lithium hydroxide and assembly are all Tesla-made in Texas; the launch AI chip still comes from Korea.
Waymo OjaiWaymoPurpose-built robotaxi vanZeekr builds the whole drivable vehicle in Ningbo as sole source, and Waymo adds sensors, compute and software in Arizona.
Tesla SemiTeslaBattery-electric Class 8 truckNearly all of the Semi is Tesla work in the US; the China exposure sits in graphite, magnets and thermal valves.
Tesla Optimus V3TeslaGeneral-purpose humanoid robotTesla designs Optimus and its AI chip, but the actuator layer is almost entirely Chinese suppliers around Ningbo and Hangzhou.
Unitree G1Unitree RoboticsCompact humanoid robotThe G1 is made almost entirely in China, and its only US parts are export-controlled chips and cameras.
Tesla Megapack 3 / MegablockTeslaGrid battery (LFP) with the Megablock medium-voltage blockEverything above the cell is Tesla-made; the cells come from CATL, BYD and EVE until LG Energy Solution Lansing ships.
Tesla V4 Supercharger cabinetTeslaDC fast-charging power cabinet feeding several postsThe V4 cabinet is nearly all Tesla work from one US plant, and its device-level suppliers are not disclosed.
Joby S4Joby AviationPiloted electric air taxi (eVTOL)Joby builds its own motors, inverters, packs and autonomy, with Toyota and Toray as partners and an undisclosed cell maker.
Fleet depot microgrid (Brookville Smart Energy bus depot)AlphaStruxure (Schneider Electric) for Montgomery County, MarylandBus depot microgrid: solar canopies, battery, gas generation and chargersThe depot is a multi-vendor build around Schneider Electric, and its failures came from vendor bankruptcies, not China.

Convergence

Convergence matrix: suppliers that appear in more than one ring

13 parent companies supply two or more of the machines. Cells list the layers each one supplies; a red border marks a Chinese parent, gold Japan, Korea or Taiwan, blue the US and Europe. Undisclosed suppliers are left out.

Suppliers in two or more machine rings, by parent company: layers supplied to each machine
SupplierRingsModel YHan LCybercabOjaiSemiOptimus V3Unitree G1Megapack 3V4 cabinetJoby S4Depot microgrid
Tesla (US)6Cells, Pack, Motor, Software, AssemblyCells, Pack, Motor, Software, Body, Charging, AssemblyCells, Pack, Motor, Power/SiC, Thermal, Software, Body, Charging, AssemblyPack, Software, AssemblyCells, Pack, Power/SiC, Thermal, Software, AssemblyAssembly, Power/SiC, Compute, Software, Charging, Body
Samsung (South Korea)4Compute, SensorsComputeComputeCompute
BYD (China)3CellsCells, Pack, Motor, Power/SiC, Software, Charging, AssemblyCells
NVIDIA (US)3ComputeComputeCompute
onsemi (US)3Power/SiCPower/SiCPower/SiC
Sanhua Intelligent Controls (China)3ThermalThermalMotor
STMicroelectronics (Switzerland)3Power/SiCPower/SiCPower/SiC
TSMC (Taiwan)3ComputeComputeCompute
Tuopu Group (China)3BodyThermalMotor
CATL (China)2CellsCells
JL Mag Rare-Earth (China)2MagnetsMagnets
LG (South Korea)2Cells, SensorsCells
Syrah Resources (Australia)2CellsCells

By layer

China dependence by layer

A row counts as China-supplied when the supplier is Chinese or a listed plant is in China. Layers where half or more of the rows are China-supplied are marked red, the rest gray.

China dependence and roles by layer, all rings
LayerRowsChina-suppliedIn-houseSole sourceSupplier not disclosed
Cells3717 (46%)9311
Pack and BMS103 (30%)910
Thermal95 (56%)204
Motor and drive2617 (65%)814
Magnets and rare earths98 (89%)006
Power electronics and SiC204 (20%)706
Compute and AI chips151 (7%)161
Sensors166 (38%)325
Software and autonomy133 (23%)1030
Structure and body115 (45%)410
Charging interface175 (29%)1102
Final assembly236 (26%)1810

Chokepoints

Sole-source chokepoints, machine by machine

Named single points in each ring, from the ring rows and their sources.

Sole-source and single-site chokepoints
MachinePartSupplierWhy it matters
Model Y, Cybercab, SemiAI4 self-driving chipSamsung Foundry, South KoreaOnly fab for AI4; AI5 adds Samsung Taylor and TSMC Arizona from 2027
Model YGiga Press casting machinesIDRA, Italy (owned by LK Technology, China)Casting is in-house; the presses are not
Waymo OjaiWhole base vehicleZeekr (Geely), NingboUS connected-vehicle rule bars Chinese software from model year 2027 and hardware from 2030
Optimus V3NdFeB actuator magnetsChinese makers (unnamed)Musk said Optimus needed a Chinese export license for magnets
Unitree G1Jetson Orin NX, RealSense camera, Livox lidarNVIDIA, RealSense (US); Livox (China)Sole-source parts; the US ones sit under export controls
Megapack 3LFP storage cellsCATL, BYD, EVE (China); LG Energy Solution Lansing from 2027Even the Nevada LFP line runs on CATL equipment
V4 Supercharger cabinetCabinet assemblyTesla Giga New York, BuffaloOne plant builds every US cabinet
Joby S4Battery cells; flight deckNot disclosed; Garmin G3000Cell maker never named; Garmin is the sole avionics source
Depot microgridSolar, chargers, batterySunPower, Proterra (bankrupt); DynapowerVendor failure, not China, is the risk

Sources

Sources and scope

Scope
Flagship Machine Supplier Rings
Sources
ElectronsX flagship machine ring dataset: teardowns, company releases and filings, supplier disclosures and trade press, Nov 2026
Updated
October 2026