Finding
Solar batteries are sized for the evening peak and outages, and rate design decides whether they pay
A typical home battery holds 10-15 kWh against about 29 kWh of average daily US household use. California's NEM 3.0 export rates made storage the default on new rooftop systems there, because exported midday solar earns little and stored energy offsets expensive evening power.
The difference from a grid BESS is scale and interconnection, not chemistry. Behind-the-meter units sit on the customer side of the meter, are certified to UL 9540 and UL 9540A, and are installed under NFPA 855 and NEC Article 706 limits on energy per room. They pair with hybrid inverters or carry their own, as Powerwall 3 does with an integrated 11.5 kW solar inverter. Aggregated by Tesla, Sunrun and utilities into virtual power plants, thousands of them act as a dispatchable grid resource.
Nearly all new units use lithium iron phosphate (LFP) cells, and most LFP cells come from China: CATL, EVE, BYD, REPT and Gotion. LG Energy Solution began LFP storage-cell production in Holland, Michigan in 2025. In the US, the homeowner tax credit (25D) ended after 2025, while leased and third-party-owned systems still claim the business credit subject to foreign-entity-of-concern limits on Chinese content.
Products
Leading behind-the-meter batteries
Usable capacity per unit; most stack for more.
| Product | Maker | Usable energy per unit | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Powerwall 3 | Tesla (US) | 13.5 kWh | Integrated 11.5 kW solar inverter; expansion units add 13.5 kWh |
| aPower 2 | FranklinWH (US) | 15 kWh | AC-coupled; pairs with any solar inverter |
| IQ Battery 5P | Enphase (US) | 5 kWh | Microinverter-based, AC-coupled |
| Home Battery | SolarEdge (Israel, US) | 9.7 kWh | DC-coupled to SolarEdge Home Hub inverter |
| LUNA2000 | Huawei (China) | 5 kWh modules, up to 15 kWh | Largest outside the US; not sold in the US |
| Battery-Box Premium | BYD (China) | 2.56 kWh HVS modules | High-voltage stack; widely used in Europe and Australia |
| sonnenBatterie | sonnen (Germany, Shell) | Modular | VPP pioneer in Germany and the US |
| Pylontech Force and US series | Pylontech (China) | Modular | Major supplier of low-voltage residential packs |
Vendors
Solar battery makers
Home and small-business batteries worldwide; Chinese brands lead outside the US. Active companies first, then planned, closed and bankrupt ones.
| Company | Products | HQ | Plants | Technology | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alpha ESS | SMILE home systems | China | China | LFP | active |
| Anker SOLIX | SOLIX home batteries | China | China | LFP; portable and whole-home | active |
| Base Power | Home battery service | US | US (Austin, Texas) | Company-owned batteries at customer homes | active: Sells backup power as a service in Texas and dispatches the fleet in ERCOT |
| Briggs & Stratton Energy Solutions | SimpliPHI batteries | US | Not disclosed | LFP | active |
| BYD | Battery-Box Premium HVS and HVM | China | China | LFP; high-voltage stack | active: Widely used in Europe and Australia |
| Dyness | Residential and C&I packs | China | China | LFP | active |
| EcoFlow | DELTA Pro Ultra and OCEAN Pro | China | China | LFP; portable and whole-home | active |
| Enphase Energy | IQ Battery 5P and 10C | US | Not disclosed | LFP; AC-coupled with microinverters | active |
| Fortress Power | eVault and eFlex | US | Not disclosed | LFP | active |
| FranklinWH | aPower 2, 15 kWh | US | Not disclosed | LFP; AC-coupled; works with any solar inverter | active |
| Generac | PWRcell 2 | US | Not disclosed | DC-coupled to the PWRcell inverter | active |
| Hanwha Qcells | Q.HOME battery systems | South Korea | Not disclosed | LFP | active |
| Huawei | LUNA2000, 5 kWh modules | China | China | LFP; not sold in the US | active |
| LG Energy Solution | RESU and LG ESS Home | South Korea | South Korea; US storage cells from Holland, Michigan | NMC and LFP | active |
| Lunar Energy | Lunar System | US | Not disclosed | Home battery with integrated inverter and VPP software | active |
| Panasonic | EverVolt | Japan | Not disclosed | Home battery with hybrid inverter | active |
| Pylontech | Force and US series | China | China | LFP; low- and high-voltage packs | active: Major supplier of low-voltage residential packs |
| SENEC | SENEC.Home | Germany | Germany | Home storage | active: EnBW subsidiary |
| Sigenergy | SigenStor | China | China | LFP; hybrid inverter, battery and EV charger in one stack | active |
| SolarEdge | SolarEdge Home Battery, 9.7 kWh | Israel | Not disclosed | DC-coupled to the Home Hub inverter | active |
| sonnen | sonnenBatterie and sonnenCore | Germany | Germany, US | LFP | active: Shell subsidiary; virtual power plant operator in Germany and the US |
| Sungrow | SBR high-voltage battery | China | China | LFP | active |
| Tesla | Powerwall 3, 13.5 kWh | US | Not disclosed | LFP; integrated 11.5 kW solar inverter | active: Largest home battery vendor; aggregates units into virtual power plants |
| Electriq Power | PowerPod | US | Not disclosed | LFP | bankrupt: Filed for bankruptcy in 2024 |
Electronics
Battery inverter and inverter-charger makers
Hybrid inverters and inverter-chargers sold to run solar batteries, including off-grid systems. Batteries with a built-in inverter are in the table above.
| Company | Products | HQ | Plants | Technology | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Deye | Hybrid and off-grid inverters | China | China | Hybrid inverters | active |
| EG4 Electronics | EG4 hybrid inverters and packs | US | Not disclosed | Hybrid inverters and LFP packs | active |
| Growatt | Hybrid inverters | China | China | Hybrid inverters | active |
| OutBack Power | Radian inverter-chargers | US | Not disclosed | Inverter-chargers; off-grid and backup | active |
| Schneider Electric | Conext XW Pro | France | Not disclosed | Inverter-chargers; off-grid and backup | active |
| SMA Solar Technology | Sunny Island | Germany | Germany | Battery inverters for off-grid and island grids | active |
| Sol-Ark | Sol-Ark hybrid inverters | US | Not disclosed | Hybrid inverters, grid-tied and off-grid | active |
| Victron Energy | MultiPlus and Quattro inverter-chargers | Netherlands | Not disclosed | Inverter-chargers; off-grid and backup | active |
Sources
Sources and scope
- Scope
- Solar Storage Batteries
- Sources
- Manufacturer datasheets; EIA residential energy consumption; NFPA 855; UL 9540
- Updated
- October 2026