EV Onboard Chargers

AC charging · PFC · SiC · bidirectional

Every EV carries an AC charger, and most charging energy still flows through it. Bidirectional OBCs are turning that charger into a home power source.

Inside an onboard charger: AC inlet, EMI filter, power factor correction stage, isolated LLC DC-DC stage, then the high-voltage battery. Below, OBC power classes by market: entry single-phase 3.3 kW; China home charging at 32 A, 7 kW; Europe three-phase 16 A, 11 kW; US Level 2 at 48 A, 11.5 kW; US Level 2 at 80 A, 19.2 kW; Europe three-phase 32 A, 22 kW. INSIDE AN ONBOARD CHARGER AC inlet EMI filter PFC stage DC-DC (LLC) HV battery OBC POWER CLASSES BY MARKET Entry, single-phase 3.3 kW China home, 32 A 7 kW EU three-phase, 16 A 11 kW US Level 2, 48 A 11.5 kW US Level 2, 80 A 19.2 kW EU three-phase, 32 A 22 kW
Most common classes
7, 11, 11.5 kW
US max (J1772, J3400)
19.2 kW
Device trend
SiC, GaN
Companies tracked
13, 4 Chinese
Hub
Supply Chain

Finding

The onboard charger sizes to each region's grid connection, and the market is shifting to SiC devices, integration with the DC-DC converter and bidirectional power

The OBC rectifies AC from a Level 1 or Level 2 charger, corrects power factor and steps it through an isolated DC-DC stage into the battery. DC fast charging bypasses it, but home and workplace AC charging supply most EV energy in the US, Europe and China. Rating follows the grid: about 7 kW single-phase in China, 11 kW three-phase in Europe and 11.5 kW at 48 A on US Level 2.

Chinese automakers buy most OBCs from domestic suppliers - Shinry, VMAX, Inovance and BYD's in-house FinDreams - and many fold the OBC and DC-DC converter into one unit or into the e-axle. European automakers often source modular 11 kW or 22 kW units from Tier 1s such as Valeo, Schaeffler (Vitesco), BorgWarner and Kostal; Hyundai Mobis, LG Magna and Lear supply Korean and US platforms. Tesla and GM design their own.

Bidirectional OBCs let the car power a home or the grid on AC. Tesla Cybertruck (Powershare), GM Ultium trucks and Hyundai and Kia vehicles with vehicle-to-load already ship with them. See V2X Bidirectional Charging and EV Charging Standards.

Power classes

OBC Power Classes

Higher ratings only help if the home or depot circuit can supply them.

OBC power classes
ClassGrid connectionTypical use
3.3 kWSingle-phase, 16 AEntry and older EVs
6.6-7.4 kWSingle-phase, 32 AMainstream EVs in China and single-phase markets
11 kWThree-phase, 16 A, 400 VStandard in Europe
11.5 kWUS Level 2, 48 A at 240 VTesla, GM and most US EVs
19.2 kWUS Level 2, 80 A at 240 V (SAE J1772, J3400 limit)Lucid Air and some trucks and fleets
22 kWThree-phase, 32 A, 400 VPremium European EVs, fleets

Components

OBC Component Stack

Magnetics and capacitors are as often the constraint as the semiconductors.

OBC components and suppliers
ComponentRoleSuppliers
Power semiconductorsPFC and DC-DC switchingSiC: Wolfspeed, Infineon, ST, Rohm, onsemi, BYD Semiconductor; GaN: Infineon, Navitas, Innoscience
MagneticsHigh-frequency transformer, PFC inductors, EMI chokesTDK, Sumida, Sunlord; mostly made in Asia
CapacitorsDC-link and filter film capacitorsTDK, Vishay, Kemet, Panasonic, Faratronic
ControlMCU, sensing, BMS and charger communicationInfineon, NXP, Texas Instruments, Renesas
Housing and coolingCold plate shared with the inverter or DC-DCTier 1 integrators

Makers

OBC manufacturers

Automakers with in-house chargers, then the suppliers. Active companies first, then merged, acquired, exited and bankrupt ones; each company appears once per product line.

Onboard chargers: automaker in-house
CompanyProductsHQPlantsTechnologyCustomersStatus
BYD (FinDreams Powertrain)OBC inside the 8-in-1 e-drive; vehicle-to-loadChinaChinaIn-house SiCBYD, Denza, Yangwang, Fangchengbaoactive
LucidWunderbox: bidirectional OBC and DC-DCUSUSSiC; 19.2 kW ACLucid Air, Lucid Gravityactive
Tesla11.5 kW AC charging (48 A) in the power conversion systemUSUS, ChinaSilicon and SiCTeslaactive
Onboard chargers: suppliers
CompanyProductsHQPlantsTechnologyCustomersStatus
Delta ElectronicsOnboard chargersTaiwanTaiwan, China, ThailandSiC and GaNNot disclosedactive
Huawei Digital PowerOBC in the power domain moduleChinaChinaSiC and GaNSeres (AITO), Chery (Luxeed)active
Hyundai MobisICCU: 11 kW OBC with vehicle-to-loadSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSilicon and SiCHyundai, Kia, Genesisactive
KostalOnboard chargers, 11 kW and 22 kWGermanyGermany, ChinaSilicon and SiCNot disclosedactive
LearOnboard chargersUSUS, Mexico, EuropeSilicon and SiCGM (Chevrolet Volt, earlier)active
LG Magna e-PowertrainOnboard chargersSouth KoreaSouth Korea, ChinaSiliconGM (Chevrolet Bolt EV)active
Shinry TechnologiesOnboard chargers and combined OBC and DC-DCChinaChinaSilicon and SiCNot disclosedactive
Toyota IndustriesOnboard chargersJapanJapanSiliconToyotaactive
ValeoOnboard chargers, including bidirectionalFranceFrance, ChinaSiCNot disclosedactive
VMAXOBC and 3-in-1 power domain units; largest independent OBC supplier in ChinaChinaChinaSiC; 6.6 kW and 11 kWLi Auto, Leapmotor, Chery, Geelyactive

Risks

OBC Supply Constraints

Most are shared with the inverter and DC-DC converter.

OBC supply constraints
ConstraintWhy it matters
SiC devicesSupply now ample as Chinese substrate capacity grew; qualification still ties each OBC to specific devices
MagneticsFew high-frequency transformer makers outside Asia
Film capacitorsHigh-temperature DC-link film capacity is limited
HV isolation testingEnd-of-line test throughput at Tier 1 plants
Regional sourcingMost magnetics and passives come from China, so tariffs and local-content rules reach the OBC

Sources

Sources and scope

Scope
EV Onboard Chargers
Sources
SAE J1772 and J3400; supplier and automaker disclosures; ElectronsX electrical dataset
Updated
October 2026