Off-Road Electric SUVs and Pickups

Clearance · Angles · Wading · Crawl modes

Electric drive suits off-road work: full torque from standstill, a motor per axle or per wheel, and software torque control in place of lockers and transfer cases. The constraint is the battery pack under the floor, which sets ground clearance and breakover and needs armor that gasoline trucks never carried.

Side view of an SUV over a ground line showing approach angle at the front, departure angle at the rear, breakover angle under the belly, ground clearance below the battery pack, and a dashed wading-depth line. Off-road geometry, side view (nose right) wading depth battery pack ground clearance approach departure breakover
Models listed
27
On sale
20
Sold in the US
9
Sold in China
7
Hub
Vehicles

Finding

9 of the 20 available off-road-capable battery-electric models are sold in the US and 7 in China

Off-road capable here means clearance, angles, underbody protection and low-speed traction modes, not only all-wheel drive. The reference points: Mercedes-Benz G 580 with EQ Technology (four motors, G-Turn tank turn), GMC Hummer EV SUV and Hummer EV Pickup (four-wheel steering, CrabWalk), Rivian R1T and Rivian R1S (quad-motor), Tesla Cybertruck, and from China M-Hero 917 and the electric Ford Bronco.

7 of the 20 models available publish at least one of ground clearance, approach, departure, breakover or wading depth. 6 of the 10 available models with a known voltage class run 800 V-class or higher architecture.

Battery-electric drive has three structural advantages off pavement: full torque from standstill for crawling, one motor per axle or per wheel so software can do what lockers and transfer cases do, and a sealed drivetrain with no air intake to drown. The cost is a floor-mounted pack that sets ground clearance and breakover and needs armor no gasoline truck carried.

Street-legal SUVs and pickups only; ATVs, UTVs and dirt bikes are in Electric Off-Road Vehicles.

Models

Off-road battery-electric SUVs and pickups by status

Sort any column; filter by market. Geometry is the maker's figure for the most capable variant; blank means not published.

Available (20)
MakeModelBodySegmentPlatformGround clearanceApproachDepartureBreakoverWadingLow-speed modesBattery kWhBest rangeDC peak kWPrice fromMarkets
ChevroletSilverado EVpickupMass-marketGM Ultium (BEV3 / BT1)493 mi EPA$52,800US
DongFengRich 6 EVpickupMass-marketNot disclosed77453 km CLTC¥269,800CN
FordBronco (China, electric)SUVMass-marketNot disclosed105.4650 km CLTC¥259,800CN
FotoneTunlandpickupMass-marketNot disclosed88n/a
GMCHummer EV PickuppickupPremiumGM Ultium (BEV3 / BT1)crawl yes (Watts to Freedom, CrabWalk)363 mi EPA350$97,200US
GMCHummer EV SUVSUVPremiumGM Ultium (BEV3 / BT1)259 mm (10 in)49.45.200315 mi EPA300$97,200US
GMCSierra EVpickupPremiumGM Ultium (BEV3 / BT1)204460 mi EPA$62,400US
IsuzuD-MAX EVpickupMass-marketIsuzu D-MAX ladder frame (ICE-derived)210 mm (8 in)30.24.600 mm (24 in)66.9262 km WLTP50£59,995EU
JACT9 Hunter EVpickupMass-marketNot disclosed88330 km WLTP77¥199,800CN
JeepReconSUVPremiumStellantis STLA Large231 mm (9 in)100.5222 mi EPA$65,000US
JMCVigus EVpickupMass-marketNot disclosed60510 km CLTC120CN
Land RoverRange Rover ElectricSUVLuxuryJLR MLA Flex900 mm (35 in)118.5601 km WLTP350€163,500EU
M-Hero917SUVLuxuryNot disclosed31°31°crawl yes142.7505 km CLTC¥697,700CN
MaxusInterstellar XpickupUpper mass-marketNot disclosed102.2560 km CLTC¥316,800CN, EU
Mercedes-BenzG 580 with EQ TechnologySUVLuxuryMercedes-Benz G-Class (electric)250 mm (10 in)32°30.20.850 mm (33 in)crawl yes (low range); tank turn yes (G-Turn)116239 mi EPA200$163,200US, EU, CN
MunroSeries-MpickupPremiumBespoke85274 km WLTP130£75,995EU
RivianR1SSUVPremiumRivian R1 platform141.5410 mi EPA220$83,990US
RivianR1TpickupPremiumRivian R1 platform141.5420 mi EPA220$79,990US
TeslaCybertruckpickupPremiumTesla Cybertruck platform442 mm (17 in)35°28°123325 mi EPA325$71,985US
ToyotaHiluxpickupMass-marketToyota IMV (Hilux BEV)59.2240 km WLTP125£57,845EU
Announced and shown (5)
MakeModelBodySegmentPlatformGround clearanceApproachDepartureBreakoverWadingLow-speed modesBattery kWhBest rangeDC peak kWPrice fromMarkets
Land RoverDefender ElectricSUVLuxuryNot disclosed
Land RoverRange Rover Velar ElectricSUVLuxuryJLR EMA
ScoutTerrapickupUpper mass-marketScout Motors platformUS
ScoutTravelerSUVUpper mass-marketScout Motors platformUS
TELOMT1pickupPremiumNot disclosed106350 mi EPA400$41,520US
Concepts (1)
MakeModelBodySegmentPlatformGround clearanceApproachDepartureBreakoverWadingLow-speed modesBattery kWhBest rangeDC peak kWPrice fromMarkets
JeepWrangler EVSUVPremiumn/an/a
Discontinued and cancelled (1)
MakeModelBodySegmentPlatformGround clearanceApproachDepartureBreakoverWadingLow-speed modesBattery kWhBest rangeDC peak kWPrice fromMarkets
FordF-150 LightningpickupMass-marketFord F-150 Lightning (body-on-frame EV)320 mi EPA$54,780US

Range shows the first figure the maker publishes in this order: EPA (US), WLTP (Europe), CLTC (China); the cycles are never mixed in one figure. Prices are list prices in the currency of the market they come from (the US price where the model is sold in the US). Trims, badge numbers and long-wheelbase versions are listed on each model's page.

Tiers

Off-road capability tiers

Trail-capable, true off-road and extreme
TierWhat it handlesTypical hardware
Extreme off-roadRock crawling, deep ruts, severe terrainQuad motors or locking differentials, crawl and tank-turn modes, air suspension with off-road height, full underbody armor
True off-roadSustained trail useLocking differentials or torque vectoring, increased clearance, off-road drive modes, skid plates
Trail-capableLight trails, dirt roads, overland travelAll-wheel drive with terrain modes, all-terrain tires, moderate clearance

Specs

Key off-road specifications

Off-road specifications and why they matter for EVs
SpecificationDefinitionWhy it matters for an EV
Ground clearanceDistance from the lowest chassis point to the ground; usually 250 to 400 mm (10 to 16 in) on off-road EVsKeeps the underbody battery pack clear of rocks and ruts
Approach and departure anglesSteepest slope the vehicle can climb onto or leave without the bumper strikingDecides rock-crawling and ledge ability
Breakover angleSteepest crest the vehicle can cross without grounding between the axlesLong wheelbases and flat packs lower it
Wading depthMaximum water depth the vehicle can cross safelySealed drivetrains resist water, but packs and connectors need their own sealing
Off-road drive modesSelectable torque split, traction control and regen settings for loose surfacesSoftware-defined control is an EV's main advantage over a mechanical 4x4
Battery protectionSkid plates, armor and reinforced underbody shieldingProtects the vehicle's most valuable component

Technology

Drivetrain and suspension technology

Off-road drivetrain and suspension technology
TechnologyWhat it isOff-road use
All-wheel drive (dual or quad motor)Motors on both axles drive all four wheelsBaseline traction on sand, mud, snow and trails; replaces the transfer case
Independent wheel driveOne motor per wheel, no mechanical differentialsPrecise torque at each wheel for crawling and climbing; enables tank turns (Mercedes-Benz G-Turn)
Torque vectoringSoftware sends torque to the wheels with gripTraction on mixed and loose surfaces
Four-wheel steeringRear wheels steer opposite the fronts at low speed and with them at high speedTighter turning on narrow trails; GMC Hummer EV
CrabWalk (diagonal drive)All four wheels steer the same way at low speedMoves the vehicle sideways past rocks and ruts; GMC Hummer EV
Adaptive and air suspensionRide height and damping change in real timeHigh clearance on trails, low stance on the highway; Rivian R1T and R1S, Hummer EV
Active suspensionActuators counter roll, squat and diveStability and ride quality on uneven ground
Predictive suspensionCameras or maps pre-set the dampers for the surface aheadStill emerging; comfort and control on rough ground

Sources

Sources and scope

Scope
Off-Road Electric SUVs and Pickups
Sources
ElectronsX passenger EV dataset; maker sites and press kits per model
Updated
October 2026