General Motors EV Platforms

Ultium · BT1 · LFP · LMR

Ultium gave GM one battery and drive kit for everything from a Bolt to a Hummer. The next generation changes the cell format, the chemistry and the computer, and keeps the platform family.

Bar chart of the largest battery offered on GM EVs, usable kWh: Chevrolet Bolt with LFP 65 kWh at 400 V; Equinox EV 85 kWh and Blazer EV 85 kWh at 400 V; Cadillac Lyriq 102 kWh at 400 V; Silverado EV about 205 kWh, Escalade IQ about 205 kWh and Hummer EV about 213 kWh, whose packs switch to 800 V for DC fast charging. Legend: Ultium NCMA pouch at 400 V; packs that switch to 800 V for DC; LFP. Below: GM's next platform uses LMR prismatic cells made at Spring Hill and a central computer arriving on the model year 2028 Escalade IQ. LARGEST BATTERY OFFERED, GM EVS (USABLE kWh) Bolt (LFP) 65 kWh, 400 V Equinox EV 85 kWh, 400 V Blazer EV 85 kWh, 400 V Cadillac Lyriq 102 kWh, 400 V Silverado EV ~205 kWh, 800 V DC Escalade IQ ~205 kWh, 800 V DC Hummer EV ~213 kWh, 800 V DC Ultium NCMA pouch, 400 V Pack switches to 800 V for DC LFP Next: fourth-generation platform LMR prismatic cells; central computer from the MY2028 Escalade IQ
Platform
Ultium (BEV3, BT1)
Pack range
65-213 kWh
Next cells
LMR prismatic
Central compute
Escalade IQ, MY2028
Hub
Systems

Finding

GM's EV lineup rests on one modular battery and drive system spread across crossover and truck architectures, and GM is now rebuilding the cell and compute layers underneath it

GM announced Ultium in March 2020: large-format NCMA pouch cells from Ultium Cells LLC, its joint venture with LG Energy Solution, assembled into packs of six to 24 modules, plus a family of Ultium Drive motors and inverters. The same kit sits under the BEV3 crossover architecture (Equinox EV, Blazer EV, Cadillac Lyriq, Optiq, Vistiq, Honda Prologue) and the BT1 truck architecture (Hummer EV, Silverado EV, Sierra EV, Escalade IQ). GM dropped the Ultium name from marketing in 2024; the hardware is unchanged.

Voltage depends on pack size. Crossovers run at 400 volts and charge at up to about 150-190 kW. The 24-module truck packs are split into two 400-volt halves that switch into series for DC fast charging, so a Hummer EV or Silverado EV takes 800-volt chargers at up to about 300-350 kW while the motors and accessories stay at 400 volts. Ultium also introduced the industry's first production wireless battery management system, from Analog Devices, which removes the module wiring harness. Under the hood, GM's Vehicle Intelligence Platform E/E architecture supports OTA updates, Super Cruise and Google built-in on Android Automotive; GM EVs dropped Apple CarPlay and Android Auto from 2024.

The next layer is cheaper chemistry and fewer computers. The 2027 Chevrolet Bolt, built at Fairfax, Kansas, uses LFP cells (initially from CATL, later from the Spring Hill, Tennessee Ultium plant) and a native NACS port. GM's fourth-generation platform moves to prismatic lithium manganese-rich (LMR) cells developed with LG Energy Solution, which GM says deliver about 20% more range per kWh than today's packs, and redesigned drive units with 40% fewer parts. A centralized computer built on NVIDIA DRIVE Thor replaces dozens of controllers starting with the model year 2028 Escalade IQ, which GM says will bring eyes-off driving on highways. The retreat is visible too: GM ended BrightDrop van production at CAMI in Ingersoll, Ontario in 2025 and cut EV shifts at Factory ZERO. In China, SAIC-GM builds Ultium models for local buyers; see SAIC Motor EV Platforms.

Lineup

GM EV platform lineup

Battery-electric only. Model lists are brief; see the EV Platform Index for full coverage.

General Motors EV platforms
ArchitectureVoltageBatteryRepresentative modelsMain plantsStatus
BEV3 (Ultium crossovers and cars)400 VUltium NCMA pouch modules, 85-102 kWhChevrolet Equinox EV, Blazer EV; Cadillac Lyriq, Optiq, Vistiq; Honda PrologueRamos Arizpe (Mexico); Spring Hill, TennesseeIn production
BEV3 with LFP400 VLFP, 65 kWhChevrolet Bolt (model year 2027)Fairfax, KansasIn production
BT1 (Ultium trucks and large SUVs)400 V drive; 800 V DC chargingUltium NCMA, up to about 213 kWhChevrolet Silverado EV, GMC Sierra EV and Hummer EV, Cadillac Escalade IQFactory ZERO (Detroit-Hamtramck)In production, reduced shifts
BV1 (BrightDrop vans)400 VUltium NCMABrightDrop Zevo 400 and 600 (Chevrolet BrightDrop)CAMI, Ingersoll, OntarioProduction ended 2025
Celestiq400 VUltium NCMA, 111 kWhCadillac Celestiq (hand-built)Global Technical Center, Warren, MichiganLow-volume
Fourth-generation platformNot disclosedLMR prismatic (Ultium Cells, Spring Hill)High-volume crossoversNot disclosedPlanned, late decade

Layers

Battery, drive and compute: today and next

GM EV platform layers
LayerUltium generationNext generation
Cell formatLarge pouch, NCMAPrismatic; LMR and LFP
Cell plantsUltium Cells: Warren, Ohio; Spring Hill, Tennessee (Lansing plant sold to LGES)Spring Hill converting to LFP and LMR
Battery managementWireless BMS (Analog Devices)Wireless BMS
Drive unitsThree Ultium Drive motors (about 62, 180 and 255 kW)Redesigned units with 40% fewer parts
E/E and computeVehicle Intelligence Platform; domain controllers; OTACentral computer on NVIDIA DRIVE Thor from MY2028
Charge port (US)CCS1 with NACS adapterNACS native (from the 2027 Bolt)

Sources

Sources and scope

Scope
General Motors EV Platforms
Sources
GM releases (Ultium, March 2020; centralized computing and fourth-generation platform, October 2025); Chevrolet, GMC and Cadillac specifications; Analog Devices (wireless BMS)
Updated
October 2026