Hyundai Motor EV Platforms

E-GMP · E-GMP.S · IMA · Pleos

Hyundai Motor Group has stretched one dedicated platform from 800-volt flagships down to 400-volt city cars and vans. Its successor, IMA, is an evolution of E-GMP, and the bigger change is software.

Timeline of Hyundai Motor Group battery-electric platforms from 2020 to 2030. Converted ICE platforms (Kona Electric, Niro EV, Inster, Genesis Electrified GV70) run across the whole period. E-GMP 800 V (IONIQ 5, 6, 9; Kia EV6, EV9; Genesis GV60) runs from 2021 to about 2029. The 400 V E-GMP variant (Kia EV3, EV4, EV5, EV2, Hyundai IONIQ 3) starts in 2024. E-GMP.S for vans (Kia PV5, PV7) starts in 2025. IMA, with eM for passenger cars and eS for purpose-built vehicles, is planned from about 2028, first in a new IONIQ 5. A dashed line marks late 2026. HYUNDAI MOTOR GROUP BATTERY-ELECTRIC PLATFORMS BY YEAR Converted ICE Kona, Niro EV, Inster, GV70 E-GMP 800 V IONIQ 5, 6, 9; EV6, EV9; GV60 E-GMP 400 V EV3, EV4, EV5, EV2, IONIQ 3 E-GMP.S (vans) Kia PV5, PV7 IMA (eM, eS) eM, eS 2020 2022 2024 2026 2028 2030 today Bars after today are plans; IMA starts around 2028 with a new IONIQ 5.
E-GMP variants
800 V, 400 V, PBV
Next platform
IMA (eM, eS)
Software
Pleos
US EV plant
HMGMA, Georgia
Hub
Systems

Finding

Hyundai Motor Group runs one dedicated EV platform family in three variants, and its next step changes software and cost more than hardware

E-GMP launched in 2021 at 800 volts for the IONIQ 5, EV6 and GV60. From 2024 Kia used a 400-volt version for the cheaper EV3, EV4 and EV5, and Hyundai followed with the IONIQ 3 (built in Izmit, Turkey) in 2026. The E-GMP.S variant carries Kia's PV5 van from the Hwaseong EVO plant. Hyundai says the successor Integrated Modular Architecture (IMA) arrives around 2028, starting with a new IONIQ 5, stays at 800 volts and is less of a leap than E-GMP was.

IMA was announced in 2023 as two platforms - eM for passenger cars and eS for purpose-built vehicles - built from a standardized set of battery packs and motors shared across Hyundai, Kia and Genesis. The goal is cost: fewer pack and drive-unit variants, higher volume per component, and an architecture that lets the group swap cell chemistries, including LFP, without re-engineering each model. Hyundai still sells converted models alongside: the Kona Electric, Kia Niro EV, Hyundai Inster (Casper Electric) and Genesis Electrified GV70 and G80 use ICE-derived platforms.

The software change is larger. In 2025 Hyundai introduced Pleos, its software-defined vehicle brand: Pleos Vehicle OS for vehicle control and Pleos Connect, an Android Automotive infotainment system that debuted in Europe on the IONIQ 3. Software development sits with the group's 42dot subsidiary. Batteries come from SK On, LG Energy Solution and CATL; in the US the group has cell joint ventures with LG Energy Solution (HL-GA, Bryan County, Georgia) and SK On (Bartow County, Georgia) supplying the Hyundai Motor Group Metaplant America in Ellabell, Georgia, which builds the IONIQ 5 and IONIQ 9 with native NACS ports. In China, Beijing Hyundai and Kia build LFP-equipped models such as the Elexio and EV5 for local buyers.

Roadmap

Hyundai Motor Group EV platform roadmap

Battery-electric only. Model lists are brief; see the EV Platform Index for full coverage.

Hyundai Motor Group EV platforms
PlatformStatusVoltageRoleRepresentative modelsMain plants
E-GMP (800 V)In production since 2021800 VDedicated platform for mid-size and large cars and SUVsIONIQ 5, IONIQ 6, IONIQ 9, Kia EV6, EV9, Genesis GV60Ulsan, Asan, Hwaseong, Gwangmyeong; HMGMA and West Point, Georgia
E-GMP (400 V variant)In production since 2024400 VLower-cost compact and mid-size EVsKia EV3, EV4, EV5, EV2; Hyundai IONIQ 3Gwangmyeong; Zilina (Slovakia); Izmit (Turkey); China
E-GMP.SIn production since 2025400 VSkateboard for purpose-built vans; modular upper bodiesKia PV5; PV7 plannedHwaseong EVO plant (Korea)
IMA eMPlanned, about 2028800 VSuccessor passenger platform with standardized packs and motorsNext-generation IONIQ 5 firstKorea and US (expected)
IMA eSPlannedNot disclosedSuccessor PBV and commercial skateboardFuture Kia PBVsNot disclosed
Converted ICE platformsIn production400 V; 800 V on GV70Electric versions of combustion modelsKona Electric, Niro EV, Inster, Genesis Electrified GV70 and G80Korea, Czech Republic, Indonesia, US

Stack

Software, cells and charging across the group

Hyundai Motor Group platform layers
LayerE-GMP generationIMA generation
InfotainmentccNC (connected car Navigation Cockpit)Pleos Connect on Android Automotive
Vehicle OS and E/EDomain controllers with OTAPleos Vehicle OS; more centralized compute
Software houseHyundai AutoEver, 42dot42dot
CellsSK On, LG Energy Solution, CATL; NCM pouch on 800 V cars, LFP on some China and 400 V carsStandardized pack family; NCM and LFP
US cell supplyImportsHL-GA (LGES JV) and SK On JV in Georgia
US charge portCCS1, then NACS from model year 2025NACS

Sources

Sources and scope

Scope
Hyundai Motor Group EV Platforms
Sources
Hyundai Motor Group releases (IMA, 2023; Pleos, 2025; IONIQ 3, April 2026); Autocar via mobiFlip (June 2026); Kia PBV releases
Updated
October 2026